Michael Fisher: Winner of the Boltzmann Medal

Michael Fisher is Distinguished University Professor and Regents Professor at the Institute for Physical Science and Technology at the University of Maryland at College Park. He is currently working in the areas of statistical mechanics, the theory of condensed matter, and physical chemistry as well as associated foundational and mathematical problems. His contributions to the theory of critical phenomena and phase transitions have been seminal.

A fellow of the Royal Society of London, the National Academy of Sciences, and the American Philosophical Society, he is the recipient of the Langmuir Prize in Chemical Physics of the American Physical Society, the Guthrie Medal of the Institute of Physics, the Boltzmann Medal for Statistical Physics, the Wolf Prize in Physics, the Hildebrand Award of the American Chemical Society and the first Lars Onsager Memorial Prize of the American Physical Society.

Updated 18 June 1999.